• FaceBook
  • Twitter
  • Reddit
  • Google
  • Linkedin
  • Plurk
  • Tumblr
  • Digg


2019-01-24 11:30 / Posted by to Gourmet

Sashimi (刺身) is very fresh raw fish (or also meat) that is thinly sliced and served uncooked. It is one of the most famous dishes in the Japanese cuisine. Seafood is most commonly eaten as sashimi. The principle of Japanese cuisine is: no matter what, it doesn't cover the taste of food. The production of sashimi on the choice of materials and the requirements of the knife is very fastidious, to ensure the delicious taste of food. The main flavor is green mustard and Japanese thick mouth soy sauce.

Types of sashimi

1. Toro (fatty tuna)

2. Akami (red meat of tuna)

3. Sake or Shake (salmon)

4. Buri (yellotail)

5. Katsuo (bonito)

6. Sanma (pacific saury)

7. Iwashi (sardine)

8. Saba (mackerel)


Fugu is a very interesting and unique ingredient for sashimi because this fish has parts that contain a strong neurotoxin that can be fatal. Chefs need a special license to serve fugu in Japan. It tastes great and of course, you can eat it without worrying about the poison! It's often served in thin translucide slices and goes well with a ponzu sauce.

10. Tako (octopus)

11. Hotate (scallop)

12. Akagai (ark shell)

Akagai literally means "red shellfish" and is also called "blood clam" in English for its color. It has quite a hard texture.

13. Basashi (horse meat)

14. Niwatori No Tataki (chicken sashimi)

15. Calories and nutrition

Possible Articles Of Interest To You

Comment On The Article

Comment List

    Latest Programs
      Latest Topic
        Latest Video

          Copyright © 2019 Nihofun. All rights reserved.